Jaguar XJ6 and Kawasaki ZX6R dials for experiments

Bought some more dials from eBay to experiment with. This time I bought some dials that I know work with minimal fitting to save time, the broke down VW part need more work than I’m willing to put into them at the moment. The dial I bought were:

– Kawasaki ZX6R 16,000 RPM tachometer for a clean brown note
– Jaguar XJ6 SIII speedometer for a dirty purple note I wrestled from a dwarf.

Happy to acquire the original Jaguar Lucas speedometer for a good price because it is normally £80 reconditioned. Both dials are driven by recognisable Black, Red & Green wires electric wires. The + and – terminals connect to the power wires of the speedometer. Probably there are more wires to connect to each terminal, if the speedometer has a back light. The S1 terminal on the Revburner carries the speed signal and must be connected to the signal wire (usually green). The signal from the Rev Burner is at 12V. Anyway the parts are pictured below.

kawasaki_tach

jag_tach01  jag_tach02

PREVIOUS USAGE
These parts have been used here in this video  and pictures below and are known to work with minimal effort which will remove some pressure from me. Can’t wait until these arrive so I can break them down (slightly less than the VW clocks this time) so I can just stick the units behind a gauge. Need to make some supports for them, etc.



[images from eBay & InsideSimRacing.tv]

Leave a comment